tcnj logo


Or request paper copy of current or past TECH-NJ issues

Suggest a program or product to be included in a future issue of TECH-NJ



National Educational Technology Standards (NETS)

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) has released the next generation of National Educational Technology Standards for Teachers (NETS•T). NETS•T 2008 focus on “using technology to learn and teach” and serve as a guide for teachers as they design, implement, and assess learning experiences that engage students and improve learning. The standards are organized into five categories:

1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity
2. Design and Develop Digital-Age Learning Experiences and Assessment
3. Model Digital-Age Work and Learning
4. Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility
5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

While all the standards are important, two in particular stand out for their consideration of students with disabilities. Included under Standard 2 is the expectation that “all teachers customize and personalize learning activities to address students’ diverse learning styles, working strategies, and abilities using digital tools and resources.” Standard 4 articulates “all teachers address the diverse needs of all learners by using learner-centered strategies and providing equitable access to appropriate digital tools and resources.” For a complete list of all the NETS for Teachers, as well the 2007 NETS for Students and a draft of the 2009 NETS for Administrators, go to


Forcina Hall, Room 101

The College of New Jersey

P.O. Box 7718

Ewing, NJ 08628-0718

P) 609.771.2795




Professor Amy G. Dell

Managing Editor

Anne M. Disdier